Dutty21’s Sports Blog

All Sports All The Time

The Year of the Pitcher Continues

1998 will always be remembered as the year of the home run.  That was the year of the historic home run chase with the Cardinals Mark McGwire and the Cubs Sammy Sosa going head to head chasing Roger Maris’ single season home run record.  2010 will be remembered for the complete opposite.  It will be remembered as the year of the no-hitter. 

We have not yet reached the July 31st trade deadline date and we have had five no-hitters (we would have six, but you can thank umpire Jim Joyce for that).  We had Ubaldo Jimenez of the Rockies throw a no-no vs the Braves on April 17th, then Dallas Braden was perfect on Mothers Day for the Athletics vs the  Rays, a few weeks later Philadelphia Phillies pitcher decided he want to be perfect vs. the Marlins, a month later Diamondbacks pitcher Edwin Jackson walked eight batters and threw 149 pitches, but still threw a no-hitter vs the Rays, and finally on July 27th Matt Garza of the Rays threw the first no-hitter in Rays history vs the Tigers.  This is the most no hitters since 1991 in which there were 7 no-hitters.  We’ll see if 2010 can produce  at least 2 more no-hitters to tie the ’91 season. 

I don’t know what the deal is with MLB hitters this year, but it’s definitely the year of the pitcher.


July 27, 2010 Posted by | Baseball | , , , , , , | Leave a comment